Update: This procedure has been changed in RMS 2.0.0150. You are now prompted to save backorder as partial received PO, carry forward backordered items to a new PC (related to original), or cancel backordered items and close the PO. If you are running a prior release, the following applies instead.
When you partially receive a PO a message pops up asking you if you want to close the PO. If you click Yes the system will automatically adjust the order to remove the undelivered items.
If you do not wish to close the PO after the first shipment arrives. then you can leave it open.
To close it at a later time, click receive, click commit (nothing will be changed since you are not receiving any additional items) and click yes when it asks you if you want to close this PO.
The system will not keep any record of the items you did not receive.